Skip to content

Blow Up (1966)

April 24, 2012

In Michelangelo Antonioni’s film “Blow Up” (1966,) photography comes meets the big screen and attempts to send out a message. Personally this was not quite my most favorite movie; to be honest the film was rather odd and confusing to me. Again this was an old movie and a poorly made movie in some ways but it all had a purpose. This mediocre movie actually ended up becoming one of the most significant movies of its time.
One beginning and very important scene was when Thomas was leaving the park and there was a woman who noticed him and kept following him. The woman seemed offended and upset, claiming that Thomas has invaded their privacy. “You cant photograph people like that” she uttered, but he refuses and states “I’m only doing my job…. I’m a photographer.” As they were arguing and disagreeing she even goes on to state “This is a public place. Everyone has the right to be left in peace.” Thomas then goes on to reply “It’s not my fault if there’s no peace.” I was very confused by this comment. He almost made it seem as if he was obligated to cruise around and photograph everything even against his will. He doesn’t even make photographing seem like a career that he chose and loves, he makes it sound more like misery where he wake up and goes out to seek things to photograph everyday with no ambition and no happiness.
Another scene that struck my attention was when Thomas and his partner Ron were supposed to chose three or four photos that were to be included in a documentary photo book that they were producing together. Thomas wanted the very last photo to be dramatically different in tone. He then stated “I’ve got something fab for the end… It’s very peaceful, very still.” He then pulled out the picture of the dead woman taken at the park earlier on. This scene disturbed me in many ways. I just could not get myself to believe that he was referring to the picture of a dead body as something almost pleasant and of a positive energy. Sadly, Ron also responded positively “Yes that’s best, rings truer.” Also followed by Thomas’ famous comment “I wish I had tons of money, then I’d be free.” Again referring to his career as a photographer to be an obligated tortured job that must be done with no excuses. What did Antonioni want to point out with those comments? What did he mean by these statements?
This movie was probably not my favorite and I probably wouldn’t recommend it to anyone seeking a good relaxing movie, but I would however like to figure out the true meaning of this film, for anyone interested in a mystery.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

